SGA Announces Leadership Award Winners


By Alexandra Espinal

Student Government Association announced the winners of this year’s leadership awards on Tuesday night in the West Room of Reid Castle. The awards recognize outstanding students, clubs, organizations, faculty, and staff who have strived to live the Manhattanville mission in the past academic year. They also awarded a select group of graduating seniors with the Castle Pin, an award that recognizes students who have demonstrated leadership in a specific role or job, and they swore into office the 2014-2015 SGA Board. The winners of this year’s awards are:

Student Employee of the Year
Khalea Baker

Global Citizen of the Year
Melanie Santos

Student Leader of the Year
Alexandra Hoyt

Most Improved Club

Best Cultural Event
International Film Festival

Best Educational Event
Malala Day

Best Social Event
International Bazaar

Administrator of the Year
Greg Palmer

Staff Members of the Year
Rob Ryan, Jerry Garafolo, Pete Schober

Faculty Member of the Year
Jim Bryan

Adjunct Faculty Member of the Year
Randye Spina

Unsung Hero of the Year
Craig Donnelly

Castle Pin Awards
Alexandra Hoyt
Alexis Moore
Gabriella Barnes
Mia Alicata
Dora Moreira
Emilia Ordoñez
Jada Cash-Wilson
Monique Mitchell
Amanda DeChent
Dana Celestino